RSS

The Christian F-Bomb: Forgiveness Challenge

22 Sep

This morning I stumbled upon this blog post about the Christian F-bomb. As I read this 140-word (or less) blog, two things occured to me. One is that I should probably try to do quick blog posts like this from time to time. More importantly though, is thing two: I did not come upon this blog by chance, I was probably going to need to forgive someone today and not want to.

What this spurred me to do was to pray this morning that I would be challenged to forgive. I actually prayed that I would need to forgive. What I prayed was, “Please give me opportunities to have to forgive today…and make it hurt, make me have to trust you to forgive.” I have no idea what made me pray for that!

When I got to school I was greeted by the power being out! It was out for about an hour, and craziness filled this time. I was expecting to have to forgive people (which I did…I am a teacher…we have to be forgiving), but what I found that I needed most was a forgiving attitude.

Forgiveness as an attitude changes your perspective on things. You are not rushed. You listen more. You talk less. You serve others more genuinely. Basically, you love more.

The challenge was just that. A challenge. I had to trust the Spirit to help me to be forgiving. It changed the way I approached others all day. I trusted God. Just like I should.

Will you take the challenge?  Will you pray tomorrow to have to be in situations to forgive?  Will you pray and ask the Spirit to help you to have a forgiving attitude?

Performancing Metrics

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “The Christian F-Bomb: Forgiveness Challenge

  1. deuceology

    September 22, 2011 at 9:32 pm

    I like this. Expecting to need to forgive. Thanks for the idea and encouragement to think about this.

     
    • ragamuffinjoe

      September 23, 2011 at 6:30 am

      No problem. Thanks again for your post that spurred me on to pray this. Sometimes I realize when God is going to use something to teach me, so I go ahead and pray for the challenge to come. It is a lot easier to let God teach me than to fight him and be forced to learn the lesson by my stupidity!

       

Leave a Reply

 
