RSS

The Virtuous Moped

03 Oct

One of my big struggles lately is with patience.  I get so stressed out when life is not working out the way I want or plan.  I know the heart of this is pride.  It is my lack of trust in a big God.  God has put me in a lot of situations to learn more about this.  Two different studies I have been a part of have focused on this.

Yesterday, I think I had a break through.  I am in a study called How People Change through my community group at chruch.  It talks about the heat in life (struggles and circumstances) and how the fruit (positive or negative) that comes from it shows our heart.  If we are drawing life from the Living Water (Jesus and the Spirit), then we will produce good fruit (positive reactions).  If we are drawing life from anywhere else we will produce thorns (negative, unloving reactions).

God taught me a lot last night and this morning.  Today was a good day.  I was not worried about the pacing of my lessons.  I was not worried about being later than I wanted to be to school or our doctor appointments.  It was a good day, and only God can get the glory.

I was thinking about how well the day went while on the way to pick up my son from daycare.  As I was doing this, on the long winding back roads I take, and suddenly I am behind a moped.  Did I mention the winding roads…with double yellow lines the whole way?  Oh, and not only was it a moped, it was a very slow moped.

I wanted to get fustrated, but I couldn’t.  I had to laugh.  I was thinking about how well I had done with patience today, so God needed to “smite” me with a moped.  God was so reminding me that my “good day” was only through him.  I would not have to worry about being later than I wanted to be.  He is big and in control.

Patience is a virtue, and sometimes a moped can prove that.

Performancing Metrics

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

3 responses to “The Virtuous Moped

  1. Danielle Lynn

    October 4, 2011 at 9:24 am

    Thank you for sharing this truth. The comment you left on my blog @ http://daniellelynn.net ministered to me today and this post helped me to put things in their proper perspective this morning. Thank you for sharing from your heart. It has truly blessed me today.

     
    • ragamuffinjoe

      October 4, 2011 at 4:47 pm

      Thank you. Your blog post today really helped God keep sending the messages to me about where I am drawing life from…me or Him.

       
  2. Jamie

    October 4, 2011 at 10:55 pm

    Thanks for the post. I was beginning to think that moped junkies were all God-less. By the way… I have a 50 V just like the one pictured. Only mine has a 74cc Airsal kit, a 16.16 dellorto carb, and simonni pipe.

     

Leave a Reply

 
