RSS

Conscientiously Objecting to the Culture War

15 Oct

My friend, Bill Moore, wrote quite a thought provoking post about the “Culture War” on his blog.  It really got me thinking.  I think I, too, have stepped back from this war (trying to win our culture for Christ instead of winning people to him).  I started to realize the misplaced priorities.

Jesus called us to love God and love others.  Period.  We were never called to push our morality on people.  We are told to share the Gospel and make disciples.  We can’t do that in the heat of the battle for “the culture.”  I think it was watching a documentary on the “God Hates F**s” church that really made me step back and say, “Wait a minute.  What is going on?”  They are the extreme, but I had to second guess my own self.

The Spirit used to other things to make me rethink my stance on the “war.”  Another documentary called, “Lord, Save Us From Your Followers”…this is a must watch.  It is done by a Christian.  I can’t even explain it.  It is on Netflix.  Go watch it.  Rent it or buy it if you don’t have Netflix.  The guy who did the movie was influenced by the other influence for me, a book called “Blue Like Jazz.”  You really need to give this a read.  You may not agree with all of if, but you need a perspective check…as we all do.

Anway, please check out Bill’s blog post, and read through the comments.  I hope it will challenge you as it did me.

Conscientiously Objecting to the Culture War.

Performancing Metrics

 
2 Comments

Posted by on October 15, 2011 in Link to another blog

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Conscientiously Objecting to the Culture War

  1. julie j.

    October 15, 2011 at 10:39 pm

    dave and i talk about this often. it would be a good discourse:) but what i really want to say is you used “my own self” which totally made me smile!

     
    • ragamuffinjoe

      October 16, 2011 at 8:03 am

      It is an awesome discourse. I think our generation, or the one after, may just reject the culture war (our generation may be too divided on it).

      You know, when I typed “my own self” I thought it sounded weird, but I couldn’t get it to sound the way I wanted in other ways. I looked it up, and apparently it is a slang term to show sincerity. It works. 🙂

      http://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=My%20own%20self

       

Leave a Reply

 
