RSS

Killed to Death

19 Oct

A friend shared this post on Facebook.  I laughed to the point that LA just had to know what it was.  She is not a Facebooker, and doesn’t really get why I enjoy reading people’s updates and whatnot.  Every once in a while, though, my reaction is enough to get her curious.  This was one of those times.

Okay, I know, I probably should not find hilarity over the death of someone.  I agree…however, I am laughing at the gaff made by who ever was in charge of the CG (character generator…what is used to create titles for TV).  It was probably a simple mistake, but it is still funny.  I laughed even as I looked at it again to get the picture to post here.  You can’t deny that it hits you in the funny bone.

I wanted to post something more light-hearted given all of the serious and challenging posts here lately.  I don’t want to get in a rut of only posting things like that.  So for a more cheery side to me, I am going to talk about death.

***SPOILER ALERT***

We are all going to die one day.  Yep.  Death is inevitable.  Yes, even you.  Even me.  All of us.  Sorry if you are the last one to find out, but it is true.

I am not sure on the timeline of things (I do have a really cool LOST-like theory, though), but at some point after death we are going to face God in judgment.  He is going to present our lives, the whole thing, and call us to account for what we have done.  We are going to have to answer for our sin, our pride, and our care (or lack thereof) of others.  I am going to be called out, and I will have to answer.

What can I say?  I will have to admit that I have lied, cheated, stolen, lusted, hated, disobeyed, disrespected, coveted, put myself first, and have not looked out for the interest of others before me.  I will have to admit these and probably millions of other things.  I will have to throw myself before God and say that I have done all of this and more.  However, I will also have the chance to call on his promises.

I will be able to say that though I have done all of these things, I can not serve the punishment for them.  I will remind God that his own Son Jesus died and took the wrath for my life and sins.  I will show him the marks of the Spirit in my life.  I will throw myself upon his mercy and cry out for Jesus to come and be my righteousness.

I am not sure what will happen next in detail, but in some way this will be enough.  Maybe Jesus will come to my defense, and as evidence present his scars.  What ever it is, I will be acquitted.  I know there maybe some consquences or something related to how well I have used the life given me through Christ and the Spirit, but I survive the judgement and be ushered into the the new life.  The life after life here on Earth.  Take a look at John 3:13-18 if you want to know why I know something will happen to save me from judgment.

I am not sure what Heaven is like, but I know I will be there.  I will be with the billions before the Throne of God.  I will praise Jesus as the Lamb of God.  I will eat at the wedding feast.  I will enjoy life with God forever.  I don’t know what that is like, but I can’t wait.

One day I will be “killed to death,” but I don’t fear that day.  To live is Christ, but to die is gain.  I love living here on Earth, but it is not my home…and that is the place I will go when I close my eyes here.  I just hope to bring as many people as I can with me (to Heaven, not death!).  I love what Rich Mullins said in the song Land of My Sojourn and I will close with this:

Nobody tells you when you get born here
How much you’ll come to love it
And how you’ll never belong here
So I call you my country
And I’ll
be lonely for my home
And I wish that I could take you there with me

 

Performancing Metrics

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
