RSS

The Teacher is Coming…Look Busy

14 Nov

I have been in quite the reflective mood as of late.  I have thought of and have started to “mentally write” a bunch of different blogposts.  I have not had the time to sit down and seriously write in a while, and now that I have a few minutes I think I am going to write something other than what I thought I would write about.

I have mentioned a few times in the past about the journey God put me on in March of this year to read through the Bible.  Even though I studied the Bible in college (the first time I went), I never read through the entire Bible cover to cover.  I was challenged to do so by an English professor when I was in school and then not again until I read the book Radical this year.  God really burned it on my heart to do this, so I started in March.  Now, here at the middle of Novemeber, I am three One Year Bible days away from finishing.

I am not sharing this to boast that I read through the Bible in nine months.  No, that is not it at all.  It is more the opposite.  I am completely humbled by it.  Something has happened to me through the Bible.  I am not sure if I can completely explain it, but I am different.  I am changed.

A few major things that I have realized:

  • The Bible is not what I thought.  It truly is the story of a loving God pursuing his people.
  • God is not who I thought.  He is loving.  He is vengeful.  He is just.  He is mercy.  He is jealous.  He is patient.  He is all of what we as humans are, but He is holy, pure, and above all that we are.
  • The Holy Spirit is not who/what I thought.  He is real.  He is God.  He is the presence of God in our lives.  He speaks.  He moves.  He calls.  He disciplines.  He is our source to be more like God.  Without Him we have nothing.
  • Jesus is not who I thought.  He has been since the beginning.  He is ever present in both the Old and New Testaments.  He is the promise of God since the beginning.  He really lived a sinless life.  He really died a sinners death.  He really rose again to show that the price was paid for our sin.  He really lives and is in Heaven.  He is really coming back.  He really loves us.  He really accepts us.  He worked to hard for us to give up on us.
  • We, humans, are not who I thought.  We really are sinful.  We really are incapable of living and trusting God as he intended on our own.  Our hearts are really crooked deep down.  We can not straighten ourselves out.  We need a savior.  We need a helper.  We need a God.  We can be made new.  We are made whole through Jesus.

As I am completing this journey (before I start it all back over again) and look back at how it has changed me, I am reminded of something that I heard someone say ten or so years ago.  There is a guy named Marquis Laughlin, and he does dramatic readings of books of the Bible (he has whole books of the Bible memorized…it is amazing).  I saw him perform the book of John.  It was one of the coolest things I have ever seen, and it brought the book alive to me in more ways than one.  At the end, he talked about what it is like to do this.  He said that one of the questions he gets all of the time is, “What is it like knowing whole books of the Bible and performing them?”

He said that it is like being in school in a classroom when the teacher has stepped out for a minute and left the students alone.  The students kind of do their own thing, but they have a look out at the door to let everyone know when the teacher is coming back.  He said that he feels like the student standing at the door.  He knows the Teacher is coming back and can see him down the hall.  He wants everyone to know that the Teacher is coming and we need to be doing the work that he left for us to do.  And that work is to love God and love other people.  Love is our job and we need to start doing it because the Teacher is almost to the door.

This is exactly how I feel on this side of my journey.  The Teacher is definitely coming back and He has definitely given us something to do.  We need to be about love.  We need to love generously and wrecklessly.  That kind of love changes the world, and we need to be changing the world when the Teacher comes back becuase that is the assignment he gave us when we left.

Performancing Metrics

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

8 responses to “The Teacher is Coming…Look Busy

  1. joeyespinosa

    November 14, 2011 at 7:47 am

    Great reflections. Reminds me of what I read recently in My Utmost, about how Jesus’ words, when we really hear them, are shocking.

     
  2. ragamuffinjoe

    November 14, 2011 at 7:03 pm

    Thanks. That is so true. When we really hear what God is saying, it is never what we expect.

     
  3. Joy

    November 15, 2011 at 10:30 am

    Absolutely! Man, the things you have realized in your journey are exactly the ones I have been tapped into. Literally, God keeps tapping me and I’m finally listening! 🙂

     
    • ragamuffinjoe

      November 25, 2011 at 7:23 am

      I know what you mean. God keeps a theme with me until I finally get it. I am starting to get it! I have started reading through a chronological Bible now…slowly the themes are starting again. I hope I get them sooner this time! Thanks for reading!

       
  4. Lauren M.

    November 18, 2011 at 4:28 am

    I agree, God is so much more than who we think He is. And I’m glad He is:)

     
    • ragamuffinjoe

      November 25, 2011 at 7:24 am

      I learn how much more God is almost everyday. I would probably learn this every day, if I would pay attention more!

       
  5. Debby

    November 19, 2011 at 5:40 pm

    All of it well said. I especially like where you said, “As I am completing this journey (before I start it all back over again)”. The starting it all over again is something I never really thought of until our ministry in the recovery community. Just as the steps needs to always be worked, so does my faith, my salvation. Not that I have to ask for salvation every day but I need to stay on the journey. I won’t finish until I am home in heaven. You said it much better so I’ll stop 🙂 Thank you.

     
    • ragamuffinjoe

      November 25, 2011 at 7:28 am

      Thanks for your comments! I completely agree with you. And I love what you said about our faith and salvation needing to be worked out everyday. They do. I am learning this so much, especially here lately. God is showing me that I have to make a decision every morning, who is today going to be about…me or him? If it is him, I need to step outside of myself. I need to go to him for salvation. Not ask for it again, but I have to realize that it only comes through him and that I can not live the life he wants me to on my own. I can’t do it with out him. I have to realize, it is not about me. Thanks for reading and sharing your thoughts!

       

Leave a Reply

 
