RSS

The Sweetness of My Son

06 Jan

I am in the hospital with my wife and our second son.  ID was born two days ago.  This morning I just could not get over how awesome it was to just hold him in my arms.  I imagine that is when God is the most pleased with us.  When we are nestled in close and completely relient on him.  Like newborns, he wants us to know we need him for everything.

So often I am more like my almost-three-year-old.  I think I can do everything.  Even the things that I know I should look to God for help, I want to do on my own.  I get anxious and stubborn,  “I do it by myself,” to quote NB.  Though he still needs me, the independent streak is very obvious.

i live my life between the two attitudes.  Completely relient or rebelliously independent.  As I spend time with ID, my new boy, and get fustrated by NB, my firstborn, I hope I continue to analyze myself and my relationship to God.

Right now, with the sleep deprivation, I think I am closer to the newborn.  I know I can’t do this alone.

Okay, I hope this one made sense.  Just some random thoughts from fatherhood as I sit here looking at my newborn son.

Performancing Metrics

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

3 responses to “The Sweetness of My Son

  1. tacticianjenro

    January 6, 2012 at 12:33 pm

    Oh wow… how sweet! Congratulations!

     
  2. Pieter Stok

    January 6, 2012 at 4:02 pm

    God bless your family.

     

Leave a Reply

 
